Full Time Writer?

so tasty, where can i get a box?

so tasty, where can i get a box?

I got a fortune out of a cookie last weekend…what are the odds?

It read: “Your sly nature will get you out of a tight spot.”

Instantly, I knew of the tight spot I was in:  struggling and if not for family would-be starving artist.

I knew I was sly.  Heck I’ve always known that.  My father was nicknamed Fox growing up.  If you know me, or have seen me in action at a Black Ty Affair, you might call me Fox 2.0

(ir)Regardless of my at least self-acknowledged sly-foxiness, I did not know exactly how I would apply that cunning, wily nature to my current situation.

Still, the fortune in hand, I felt the will to power-up and out of my hole swell inside my heart; renewing a vigor I thought forever lost to me.

Right on cue, I’m set up with a exclusive meeting with poet, storyteller, writer, and educator (as her card clearly states ;-)) Michelle Muir.

My boy Steele – who hooked up the meeting – had told me Michelle was like the Oracle – which as he made a point to notice, made him Morpheus, and me Neo – but even with his warning, I was not prepared for the overwhelming abode of the proven wordsmith.

Books, CDs, Vinyl and Posters both current and vintage lined the walls, accompanied by masks and other sculptures indicative of that righteous Afrocentric Nature that I had always identified with.

A few social appetizers and drinks later, I had failed miserably (in my eyes) to explain what my book was about and come off as anything more than a fan, a phony, a fake, a pussy, a stan.  But I’m fairly hard on myself.

Michelle brightened things up with readings from two of her poems, both of which astounded me for their lyrical flow and force.  What a voice, I thought.

I remembered her saying earlier that she hosted a radio show, and now I had my proof.

I was taken aback by the whole night; even wondering to myself at the time just what my state of consciousness was, asleep or awake?

I did not sit back, mumble and jumble my words, while staring wide-eyed with mouth agape the whole night however, I did manage to take some useful notes from The Oracle’s advice on how to make it as a writer.

She did say the road is long, and that patience and persistence were vital to the journey.  “Don’t quit your day job.”  or in my case, “get a day job.” lol and make it one that you can love, even if just a little.

I am following up on her advice now, and already I am seeing ways that the sly-fox can maneuver so that he can live as he wants to live; as a full time writer.

The saga continues…

Tuck in your shirt and stay classy Internet,

Black Ty

special shouts and large ups go to my BFF YK, and Steele’s Mom and Sis, Kris and Steph…much love

Leave a Reply

