The Broken

the-broken

Creepy!

Like that tag-line at the top of the poster says, this movie is a sure fire way to creep yourself out late at night.  Great suspense, great acting (Lena Headey stars alongside seasoned veteran Richard Jenkins) and great special effects.  When it comes to horror movies, I usually find myself rolling my eyes or just turning it off altogether.  The Broken kept me intrigued, on the edge of my seat, and down right disturbed from start to finish.  You’ll never look at a mirror in the same way again.  A hair-raising horror, I give it 3 and a half BoTy’s out of a possible 5.

Better than just good

Better than just good

And a Two-Face rater for the schizophrenia you will surely suffer from after you watch the film.

Two-Face_Tobi

Peep the trailer:

3 Responses

  1. I thought this movie was dreadful and the plot made no sense whatsoever. If you can tell us what its meant to be about, that will be a public service.

    p.s. I love your blog, it’s totally ace

  2. SPOILER ALERT

    I gave The Broken such a good rating because I think it was good compared to its contemporaries in the horror genre these days.
    What I thought it was about, was simply the existence of alternate realities. Mirrors being the windows and gateways to these other-worlds
    where different versions of ourselves live. I think in this film the others, if you will (crosses fingers and hopes you will allow that), are trapped
    in their alternate world, and have a violent resentment towards their counterparts, for some reason. (Plot hole that I forgave) I suppose what
    I found better than good about the film was its use of suspense, and the fact that we weren’t sure which version of Lena Headey’s character
    survived the crash until the final minutes. Granted a lot was unexplained, but I think JJ Abrams is better left to explaining alternate realities in the sci-fi genre;
    the mystery functions well within the confines of this horror.

    I hope that helped.

    Thanks for the comment.

    Stay classy,

    Black Ty.

Leave a Reply

