String Theory

In an earlier post this month, I mentioned my frustration when attempting to send a postcard back home to Canada.

I must have deleted the picture of the postcard, but I found the words I typed before writing them on the postcard by hand.

Here they are:

Strings attached.

My Dearest _ovial _lluring _electable _xception*,

There’s a relatively new “theory of everything” in physics called string theory which takes on the lofty challenge of describing the fundamental forces and matter found in our universe and unifying them in one complete, mathematically sound system.

The theory has yet to be proven, but if true, it would mean that there are an infinite number of unending, invisible, yet incredibly powerful threads connecting everything and everyone, everywhere. Even the strings on the face of this postcard, cut in some places, are not cut off from those around it, from the camera which captured their image, or from the photographer who pointed and clicked. All are one. All are connected.

I have ran my fingers over the entirety of this postcard. Thus weaving the strings which run through me, through this card. When it reaches you and you take it in your hand, you will instantly intertwine your strings with my strings, and in a matter of speaking fold time and space so that our hands touch, even if only on a dimensional plane not entirely perceivable by the ordinary human.

But of course, you are far from ordinary*, and I like to think that our bond was forged with some pretty strong thread.

Pull on a string. Can you feel it. We’re attached.

❤ Ty

can you feel it?

Leave a Reply

