Concept Art for my novel series

After far too many years hiding this from the world…I’ve decided to finally start showing bits and pieces…

The following are rough sketches of characters appearing in the first story arc of my planned novel series.

I am not a trained illustrator and should my work ever take the form of a graphic novel, I would probably hire an artist. I have always maintained that writing is my strongest talent. Which is why I’m babbling on now and not just getting to the darn posting of the pics…lol here we go.

Mike Hart

young black doctor in the 70s

Ace

cookie cutter superhero who tries to break the mold he was made into

additional Ace sketches

black girl

no character name yet, just something that may be used in a flash back

urbanite hipster swag queen in the city

secondary character (name tbd) supporting cast for female protagonist (Mackenzie)

Malcolm Bell

Malcolm Bell based on my brother – obvious to those that know him

Nikki Noble… based loosely on an old friend 🙂 I hope she doesn’t mind…

Norman Bell, father to Malcolm and Tyson Bell

spades

The Spades Youth Club – inspired by my friends- obvious to those who know them

Emma Abrams…supporting cast

Rachelle C. supporting cast

Mina…inspired by a good friend I made out in Egypt..hope he doesn’t mind 🙂

Detective Frank Knotts… main character… drawn about 13 years ago

Father Morrisand – catholic priest … he’ll fit in the story in strange ways

Daniel Currie…based on my favorite High School Teacher… hope he doesn’t mind

Astan Morningstar (revealed)— he’ll have an interesting journey

Female Lead, Mackenzie Hart…in a strange place

Alien race, tentatively called the Omak

Serun…based on a High School Friend – obvious to those who know him…maybe?

Our antagonist, in his most menacing attire

supporting cast…the name is stolen, but not based on where I stole it from

As you can see, I’m playing with a bunch of different styles and haven’t settle on one. This is however, just concept art.  From the various pics, you can also guess that the story is of the sci-fi fantasy genre, influenced by comic books, anime, and even the Wire, if you’re reaching (see Spades drawing).

More to come. This is just the first batch of stuff I happened to scan today. I think I’ll have subsequent posts be dedicated to individual characters.

I also just bought a Wacom Tablet, that I’m having a lot of trouble getting used to. Hopefully I can incorporate the work I do with that in photoshop into what I share here.

If you do look at this, constructive criticism is always welcome.

Stay Classy,

Black Ty.